ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

Variety of talent passing through NJ this summer

By Elizabeth Worthington
NJTV News Intern

In an effort to bring more talent to the area, Newark’s Prudential Center recently entered into a booking and marketing partnership with New York City’s Madison Square Garden. Prudential Center’s chief executive officer Scott O’Neill hopes the agreement will benefit both touring artists and New Jersey music fans. He anticipates that bringing top entertainers from around the world will advance the state’s legacy in the music industry.

Keeping with the spirit of that legacy, here’s a snapshot of the talent New Jersey is currently showcasing for concertgoers. Here’s a sampling of upcoming concerts — organized by geographical region — to make sure no matter where you live, you can enjoy the entertainment this summer.

 

DOWN THE SHORE

Tuesday July 18-Sunday, Aug. 13 — Legends in Concert
Atlantic City, Harrah’s

Friday July 21 — The Steppin Stones
Asbury Park,  The Wonder Bar

Saturday, July 22 — The Who
Atlantic City, Boardwalk Hall

Friday, July 28 — Anthony Hamilton
Atlantic City, Caesars

Wednesday Aug. 16 — The Dead Daisies
Asbury Park, House of Independents

Friday, Aug. 25 — Smokey Robinson
Atlantic City, Tropicana

 

CENTRAL JERSEY

Sunday, July 23 — Chicago & the Doobie Brothers
Holmdel, PNC Bank Arts Center

Tuesday, July 25 — Rod Stewart & Cyndi Lauper
Holmdel, PNC Bank Arts Center

Friday, July 28 — Blondie & Garbage
Red Bank, Count Basie Theatre

Friday, Aug. 4 — Brad Paisley
Holmdel, PNC Bank Arts Center

Friday, Aug. 11 — Lady Antebellum with Kelsea Ballerini
Holmdel, PNC Bank Arts Center

Thursday, Aug. 17 — Florida Georgia Line with Nelly
Holmdel, PNC Bank Arts Center

Friday, Aug. 18 — Goo Goo Dolls with Phillip Phillips
Holmdel, PNC Bank Arts Center

 

NORTH JERSEY

Thursday, July 21 — Classic Albums Live Tribute Show: Jimi Hendrix – Are You Experienced
Montclair, Wellmont Theatre

Friday, July 21 — Bell Biv Devoe, SWV & Dru Hill
Newark, NJ PAC

Sunday, July 30 — Glenn Miller Orchestra
Newton, Newton Theatre

Tuesday, Aug. 15 — Donny & Marie Osmond
Morristown, Mayo Center for the Performing Arts

Friday, Aug. 4 — Earth, Wind, and Fire & Nile Rodgers
Newark, Prudential Center

Monday, Aug. 18 — Lionel Richie & Mariah Carey
Newark, Prudential Center

 

SOUTH JERSEY

Friday, July 21 — Chicago – The Band & the Doobie Brothers
Camden, BB&T Pavilion

Saturday, July 22 — OneRepublic, Fitz & the Tantrums & James Arthur
Camden, BB&T Pavilion

Monday, July 24 — John Legend
Camden, BB&T Pavilion

Friday, Aug. 18 — John Mayer
Camden, BB&T Pavilion